M-7-180C Versus M-7-235C

A catch-all forum for anything remotely related to Maule flying.
G-Force

M-7-180C Versus M-7-235C

Post by G-Force »

I am new to the tail dragger scene so forgive me for any ignorance that my be typed here. However I was reviewing specifications between these two Maules and the only difference I could see was that the 235 obviously has the bigger motor the O-540, but to what real advantage? The 235 has a better Climb rate and cruise that's it right nothing more? I was really set on the 235 until I started reading about the 180, it has more usable load, by 100 pounds, has better range by 160 miles and only eats 9 GPH. So you sacrifice a not so good climb rate, and cruise. Why isn't Maule charging more for the 180! Of coarse I know the answer to that, but the real question is where can the 235 go that the 180 cant, that's for you experienced guys to answer. Little of subject but are there mods for the 180 for better climb rate and cruise?

Most information retrieved from: http://maules.com/Models.htm
Buy land, because they are not making anymore of it!

mauleace

Engines

Post by mauleace »

I have an M5-235C. I have never flown a Maule with a 180, so there are guys like Jeremy who have flown everything.

But, from my flying experience with other planes, and for that matter other equipment, size matters. The 235 will probably out climb the 180 and does have better performance at altitude. I live in the west so there are mountains everywhere I go. DA is an issue and the cubic inches makes a difference in a naturally aspirated engine at higher elevations.

So, if you are going to be in the flatlands the 180 is a great choice. A great compromise with better fuel mileage.
"Never feel sorry for a man who owns an airplane" Charles Morse (Anthony Hopkins) The Edge

AK Mauler

Post by AK Mauler »